top of page

Mon, Jul 01

|

Online course with zoom sessions

Pre sale to course: Drawing Fundamentals: Measuring and Proportions

In this course we will practice the basics to drawing. Measuring shapes and drawing in proportion. There are various techniques that we will practice such as using a grit, an outline, contour lines, negative space, Comparative Measurement and Plumb lines.

Pre sale to course: Drawing Fundamentals: Measuring and Proportions
Pre sale to course: Drawing Fundamentals: Measuring and Proportions

Time & Location

Jul 01, 2024, 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM GMT+1

Online course with zoom sessions

About the Event

Course: Drawing Fundamentals: Measuring and Proportions

Course doors open on 1 July 2024

In this course we will practice the basics to drawing. Measuring shapes and drawing in proportion. There are various techniques that we will practice such as using a grit, an outline, negative space, Comparative Measurement and Plumb lines. The course is perfect for those who are new to drawing and for those who want to improve their drawing skills. 

Zoom events: 

As always, the first group of course participants will be invited to join a live session on zoom in which we practice the techniques. The live session recording will be added to the online course after. 

The complimentary zoom sessions will take place on:

  • 24 July at 6pm UK time (that is 7 PM Central European Time, 1PM EST, 12PM CST, 10AM PST)
  • 31 July at 6pm UK time (that is 7 PM Central European Time, 1PM EST, 12PM CST, 10AM PST)

Course Content:

  1. Understanding Basic Concepts Explaining the importance of measuring and proportion in drawing. Introducing the fundamental techniques we'll practice.
  2. Techniques for Measuring and Proportion Detailed explanation of each technique:
  • Using a grid
  • Creating an outline
  • using contour lines
  • Utilizing negative space
  • Comparative measurement
  • Plumb lines
  1. Practical Exercises Hands-on activities for each technique. Guided practice sessions to reinforce learning.

Who Should Take This Course:

  • Ideal for beginners looking to learn the basics of drawing.
  • Suitable for individuals seeking to enhance their drawing skills by mastering measuring and proportion techniques.

Materials needed: 

As this is an introduction course the materials we use are basic drawing tools. I love sketching in colour pencil and I will show you how I use colour pencil in my sketchbook but this is not a required material. 

  • Drawing Paper: A sketchpad or drawing paper suitable for pencil drawings.
  • Pencils: A range of graphite pencils (e.g., HB, 2B, 4B) for varying line weights and shading.
  • Eraser: A kneaded eraser for gentle erasing and a plastic eraser for more precise erasing.
  • Sharpener: A pencil sharpener to keep pencils sharp for accurate drawing.
  • Ruler or Straight Edge: For drawing straight lines and measuring proportions accurately.

Membership Offer
Buy a membership and get up to 20% off this event at checkout

Tickets

  • Early Bird Tickets

    Special offer for those who join the course before it is ready

    £75.00
  • Full price tickets

    This will be the ticket price once the course doors open

    £120.00

Total

£0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page